Hobbies (besides movies)

Fun and Games!
Mrs. Danvers

Hobbies (besides movies)

Post by Mrs. Danvers » Sat Apr 07, 2018 2:42 pm

I've been doing genealogy on my family and my husbands for a few years now, but it really took off when I retired and had hours to spend if i wanted to, tracking stuff down.
The best site, hands down, for absolutely free information, is Family Search Church of the Later Day Saints, no kidding. They don't want a thing from you, just happy to help the world get as much free information as possible. They have an absolutely massive amount of information.
The other sites have bought up tons of public records, but not all of them, now we have to pay them for us to look at what was once public and available to anybody, as it should be. So I refuse to join one of those sites. but here is the free site. And certainly not all records are blocked and unviewable, you'd be surprised.

https://www.familysearch.org/

I can't even begin to bore you with some of the fascinating (to me) things I have uncovered. But my a 14th Great grandpa was a Ship Captain who commanded one of Sir Francis Drake's ships, he circumvented the globe with Drake and was even talked about as being one of Drakes most trusted Captains. But unfortunately on one of their pirate raids, them being the pirates of Queen Elizabeth the I, Grandpa was killed in a fierce battle in Cartagena, Columbia and buried there.
Anyway, turns out during my endless researching, my 14th Great Grandpa the ship Captain, is also my husband's 14th great grandpa. Holy cow!! is all I could say.